A comprehensive directory of Singapore companies certified to the highly acclaimed ISO standards and other recognised certification standards.



Keeping Certification Activities in Singapore Up to Standard

The Accreditation Scheme for Quality Management System Certification Bodies was launched by the Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) in October 1996 to maintain the standard of certification activities in Singapore. Since then, several accreditation programmes have been introduced to assure the quality of certification activities in Singapore.

The following Accreditation Programmes are offered by SAC:

1. Management Systems Certification
• Quality Management System (QMS)
• Environmental Management System (EMS)
• Occupational Safety and Health Management System (OSHMS)
• Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) based Food Management System
• Food Safety Management System (FSMS)
• Good Distribution Practice for Medical Devices (GDPMDS)
• Business Continuity Management (BCM)
• Energy Management System (EnMS)
• Water Efficiency Management System (WEMS)
• Learning Service Providers (LSP)
• Multi-Tiered Cloud Computing Security (MTCS)
• End-of-Life ICT Equipment (EIMS)
• Asset Management (AMS)
• Medical Device – Quality Management System (MDQMS)
• Anti-bribery Management System (ABMS)

2. Product Certification
• Including Electrical & Electronics Products, Fire Safety Products, Ready-Mixed Concrete, Water Efficiency Labelling Products and etc.

3. Personnel Certification
• Including certification of management consultants, NDT personnel, rope access personnel and etc.

Why be accredited?
Accreditation is an endorsement on the technical competence and integrity of a certification body. Notably, accreditation will enhance customer confidence on the services provided by the certification body.

In addition, as a member of the Multilateral Recognition Arrangement (MLA) for Quality Management System, Environmental Management System, Food Safety Management System and Product of Pacific Accreditation Cooperation (PAC) and International Accreditation Forum (IAF), certificates issued by SAC accredited certification bodies are recognised worldwide by MLA members from over 80 economies.

Accreditation Criteria
For a certification programme to be accredited, certification bodies must meet specific international/national standards and SAC requirements. These are:
• ISO/IEC 17021-1, Conformity assessment – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems
• ISO/TS 22003, Food safety management systems – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of food safety management systems
• ISO/IEC 17065, General requirements for bodies operating product certification systems
• ISO/IEC 17024, Conformity assessment – General requirements for bodies operating certification of persons
• Applicable IAF Mandatory Document and SAC Documents

The certification bodies will be assessed based on their independence, integrity and technical competence. Management system certification bodies must demonstrate their ability to audit organisations’ management systems against the requirements of the international/national standards, such as ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 22000. Product or Personnel certification bodies must also have the capability to assess product or personnel compliance to national/international standards or industry/sector standards.

Application for accreditation is open to all certification bodies in Singapore.

For more details, visit www.sac-accreditation.gov.sg